Stay awake!

I thought that I would have more to say in the wake of this election. I think the main problem has been that school (www.mmccu.coop) has been really and truly kicking my butt.

That, and launching the publicity for “Holy Cooperation!” which includes my first two readings in the next eight days. The best part is that the local weekly paper is planning to run an article (with picture!) this week. And I have to say that I’m quite nervous about how all my long-lost friends and acquaintances and coworkers and neighbors and rivals and boy scout leaders are going to respond. Probably most will say “Oh, so that’s what Andrew is doing.” And get on with their day. But the whole thing gives me the heebyjeebies. And I digress…

What I really want to talk about is the next President of the United States of America. I’m generally pretty happy about how the election turned out. It is certainly much better than the only other likely scenario. So please don’t get me wrong when I tell you to stay alert! Don’t think that the nightmare is over. Don’t believe the hype about how a new era has started in America and we are going to magically be the shining city on the hill again. And for crying out loud, don’t look at him with those puppy dog eyes that I see in every other crowd shot when he speaks. We need to be more critical than puppy dogs.

I do trust Obama’s intentions, and think he generally has a good vision for the country (with which I happen to have some fundamental disagreements), and some pretty good skills that will help him pull off that vision. And I also realize that he’s swimming against some pretty strong currents. So yes, he needs people’s support. We all need to be leaning on Congress (and Obama) to make sure that they stay on task. And of course, we don’t all agree on what that means. And of course, there probably isn’t enough money left in the Treasury for whatever it is that we think it means.

Back when Clinton was elected, I saw a shift in how people acted. Times were good, a “liberal” was in the White House, and we could relax since the Reagan-Bush era was over. We now see how utterly wrong we were about that. Remember who passed welfare reform? Remember who bombed Iraq right after he took office? Remember who oversaw the implementation of NAFTA? Yup, Clinton.

Granted, Obama is no Clinton, and Bush Jr. is no Bush Sr. But still, we need to not take things for granted. I think that Obama would say the same. Keep in mind what I’ve already pointed out about how he said that the election is not the change we need.

We’ve got some really challenging times on our hands, and this is way bigger than government can fix. We all need to be working at the grassroots, answering whatever call we hear. This should include individual acts of service, but we also need to find bigger ways of serving.

Don’t listen to me. Listen to Obama. Take his words very seriously.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

